print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

 Home > News & Policies > June 2005

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
June 8, 2005

President to Welcome Presidents Mogae, Kufuor, Guebuza, Pohamba, and Tandja to the White House

President Bush will welcome President Festus Mogae of Botswana, President John Kufuor of Ghana, President Armando Guebuza of Mozambique, President Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia, and President Mamadou Tandja of Niger to the White House on June 13, 2005. This meeting will highlight the value that the United States places on supporting democracy across Africa. President Bush looks forward to recognizing these countries' successes at holding free and fair elections last year and discussing the issues of democracy, trade and economic development, HIV/AIDS, the upcoming G-8 summit, as well as peace and security in Africa.

# # #