print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

 Home > News & Policies > December 2008

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
December 12, 2008

Statement on Federal Disaster Assistance for South Dakota

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of South Dakota and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe winter storm and record and near record snow during the period of November 5-7, 2008.

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm and record and near record snow in the counties of Bennett, Butte, Corson, Dewey, Haakon, Harding, Jackson, Meade, Mellette, Perkins, Shannon, Todd, and Ziebach Counties and the portions of the Pine Ridge Reservation, Rosebud Reservation, Cheyenne River Reservation, and Standing Rock Reservation that lie within the designated counties.

In addition, assistance for snow removal and emergency protective measures that were undertaken to save lives and protect public health, safety and property over a continuous 48-hour period in response to record and near record snow is available to the State and eligible local governments in the counties of Butte and Perkins.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and Tribes within the State.

R. David Paulison, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Nancy m. Casper as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


# # #