print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

 Home > News & Policies > November 2007

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
November 14, 2007

President Bush Announces 2007 National Medal of Arts and National Humanities Medal Recipients

President George W. Bush today announced the recipients of this year's National Medals of Arts and National Humanities Medals.

The awards will be presented by the President in an East Room ceremony on Thursday, November 15, 2007. The President will be joined by First Lady Laura Bush, Mrs. Lynne Cheney, Dana Gioia, Chairperson, National Endowment for the Arts, and Dr. Bruce Cole, Chairperson, National Endowment for the Humanities.

National Medal of Arts Recipients

Morten Lauridsen, composer - Los Angeles, California

N. Scott Momaday, author - Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

R. Craig Noel, director - San Diego, California

Roy R. Neuberger, arts patron - New York, New York

Les Paul, guitar pioneer - New York, New York

Henry Steinway, arts patron - New York, New York

George Tooker, painter - Hartsville, Vermont

University of Idaho Lionel Hampton International Jazz Festival - Moscow, Idaho

Andrew Wyeth, painter -Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania

Erich Kunzel, conductor (2006 Recipient) - Naples, Florida

National Humanities Medal Recipients

Dr. Stephen H. Balch, scholar - Princeton, New Jersey

Russell Freedman, author - New York, New York

Victor Davis Hanson, military historian and author - Fresno, California

Roger Hertog, philanthropist - New York, New York

Cynthia Ozick, author - New Rochelle, New York

Richard Pipes, author and historian - Cambridge, Massachusetts

Pauline L. Schultz, curator and author - Hixson, Tennessee

Henry Leonard Snyder, scholar - Kensington, California

Ruth R. Wisse, scholar - Cambridge, Massachusetts

Monuments Men Foundation for the Preservation of Art - Dallas, Texas

# # #