print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

Home > News & Policies > Nominations by Name

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
May 24, 2007

Nominations Sent to the Senate

Diane G. Farrell, of Connecticut, to be a Member of the Board of Directors of the Export-Import Bank of the United States for a term expiring January 20, 2011, vice Joseph Max Cleland, term expired.

Henrietta Holsman Fore, of Nevada, to be Administrator of the United States Agency for International Development, vice Randall L. Tobias, resigned.

Preston M. Geren, of Texas, to be Secretary of the Army, vice Francis J. Harvey, resigned.

James W. Holsinger, Jr., of Kentucky, to be Medical Director in the Regular Corps of the Public Health Service, subject to qualifications therefor as provided by law and regulations, and to be Surgeon General of the Public Health Service for a term of four years, vice Richard H. Carmona, term expired.

Michael W. Michalak, of Michigan, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Minister-Counselor, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Socialist Republic of Vietnam.

William J. Powell, of West Virginia, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of West Virginia, vice W. Craig Broadwater, deceased.

Robert Charles Tapella, of Virginia, to be Public Printer, vice Bruce R. James, retired.

Amul R. Thapar, of Kentucky, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Kentucky, vice Joseph M. Hood, retiring.

# # #