print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

 Home > News & Policies > September 2004

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
September 30, 2004

Statement by the Press Secretary

Today the Millennium Challenge Corporation (MCC) designated seven countries as eligible for its 2004 Threshold Program, enabling them to apply for grants designed to help countries qualify for the Millennium Challenge Account (MCA). The President welcomes Albania, East Timor, Kenya, Sao Tome, Tanzania, Uganda, and Yemen to participate in the MCA Threshold Program. They have demonstrated a significant commitment to improving policies in the areas of ruling justly, investing in people, and promoting economic freedom. The President looks forward to seeing them develop a productive partnership with the MCC that leads toward achieving MCA standards, and, more important, accelerated progress in poverty reduction and economic growth.

# # #