print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

 Home > News & Policies > September 2004

For Immediate Release
September 9, 2004

White House Announces 2003 Awards for Early Career Scientists and Engineers

The White House today announced the recipients of the 2003 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the nation's highest honor for professionals at the outset of their independent research careers. Fifty-seven researchers will be honored today in a ceremony presided over by John H. Marburger III, Science Advisor to the President and Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. The White House will webcast the event live at 3:00 p.m. today from the White House website at

The Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, established in 1996, honors the most promising beginning researchers in the nation within their fields. Eight federal departments and agencies annually nominate scientists and engineers at the start of their careers whose work shows the greatest promise to benefit the nominating agency's mission. Participating agencies award these beginning scientists and engineers up to five years of funding to further their research in support of critical government missions.

The recipients of the 2003 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, along with their nominating federal department or agency are :

Department of Agriculture

  • Timothy E. Link, University of Idaho
  • Curtis P. Van Tassell, Agricultural Research Service
  • Patrick A. Zollner, Forest Service North Central Research Station

Department of Commerce

  • Sim D. Aberson, Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory
  • Scott A. Diddams, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Jon R. Pratt, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Kyle W. Shertzer, Southeast Fisheries Science Center

Department of Defense

  • Brian P. Anderson, University of Arizona
  • Vladimir Bulovic, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Rustem F. Ismagilov, University of Chicago
  • Lyon B. King, Michigan Technological University
  • Christopher A. Schuh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Moe Z. Win, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Department of Energy

  • Tamara G. Kolda, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Saskia Mioduszewski, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Jian Shen, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Catherine M. Snelson, University of Nevada
  • Margaret S. Torn, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Donald P. Vasco, Jr., Tennessee Technological University
  • Brian D. Wirth, University of California , Berkeley

Department of Health and Human Services: National Institutes of Health

  • Matthew I. Banks, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Leonardo Belluscio, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
  • Linzhao Cheng, Johns Hopkins University
  • William DeBello, University of California , Davis
  • Michael B. Eisen, University of California , Berkeley
  • Stuart Forman, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Peter D. Kwong, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
  • Anne M. Moon, University of Utah
  • Sean J. Morrison, University of Michigan
  • Steven D. Munger, University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • Stephanie B. Seminara, Harvard Medical School
  • Brian D. Strahl, University of North Carolina , Chapel Hill

Department of Veterans Affairs

  • Steven M. Asch, Los Angeles Veterans Health Services
  • Albert C. Lo, West Haven Veterans Administration

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

  • Stuart D. Bale, University of California , Berkeley
  • Carlos Del Castillo, Stennis Space Center
  • Sarah Stewart-Mukhopadhyay, Harvard University
National Science Foundation
  • Treena L. Arinzeh, New Jersey Institute of Technology
  • Paola Barbara, Georgetown University
  • Carla E. Caceres, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Harry J. Dankowicz, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Daniel R. Gamelin, University of Washington
  • Arjun M. Heimsath, Dartmouth College
  • Joseph Henrich, Emory University
  • Jennifer S. Lerner, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Yoky Matsuoka, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Roxana A. Moreno, University of New Mexico
  • Kara L. Nelson, University of California , Berkeley
  • Erica L. Plambeck, Stanford University
  • Carla Mattos, North Carolina State University
  • Juan G. Santiago, Stanford University
  • Cyrus Shahabi, University of Southern California
  • Sandeep K. Shukla, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Kimmen Sjölander, University of California , Berkeley
  • Elisabeth Smela, University of Maryland , College Park
  • Konstantina Trivisa, University of Maryland , College Park
  • Ravi D. Vakil, Stanford University
About the Office of Science and Technology Policy

Congress established OSTP in 1976 with a broad mandate to advise the President and others within the Executive Office of the President on the impacts of science and technology on domestic and international affairs. The 1976 Act also authorizes OSTP to lead an interagency effort to develop and to implement sound science and technology policies and budgets and to work with the private sector, state and local governments, the science and higher education communities, and other nations toward this end. The Director of OSTP serves as co-chair of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology and oversees the National Science and Technology Council on behalf of the President. For more information visit