print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

Home > News & Policies > Nominations by Name

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
September 3, 2003

Nominations Sent to the Senate

Paul S. Atkins, of Virginia, to be a Member of the Securities and Exchange Commission for a term expiring June 5, 2008. (Reappointment)

Bradley D. Belt, of the District of Columbia, to be a Member of the Social Security Advisory Board for a term expiring September 30, 2008, vice Stanford G. Ross, term expired.

Karan K. Bhatia, of Maryland, to be an Assistant Secretary of Transportation, vice Read Van de Water.

William A. Chatfield, of Texas, to be Director of Selective Service, vice Alfred Rascon, resigned.

Gordon England, of Texas, to be Secretary of the Navy. (Reappointment)

William J. Hudson, of Virginia, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Minister-Counselor, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Republic of Tunisia.

Michael O. Leavitt, of Utah, to be Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency, vice Christine Todd Whitman, resigned.

James McBride, of New York, to be a Member of the National Council on the Arts for a term expiring September 3, 2008, vice Nathan Leventhal, term expired.

Hector E. Morales, of Texas, to be United States Alternate Executive Director of the Inter-American Development Bank, vice Jorge L. Arrizurieta, resigned.

Michael W. Wynne, of Florida, to be Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology, and Logistics, vice Edward C. Aldridge, resigned.

Jennifer Young, of Ohio, to be an Assistant Secretary of Health and Human Services, vice Scott Whitaker.

# # #