print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

 Home > News & Policies > November 2002

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
November 4, 2002

White House Fellows to Meet with Key Officials

WASHINGTON, November 4, 2002 - The White House today announced that the 2002-2003 Class of White House Fellows will meet with key leaders in government, business, and the media from November 4 - 7, 2002 in New York City. The meetings are part of the Fellows' first domestic policy study trip to examine recovery and resurgence issues facing New York. The delegation includes four Fellows from New York - David Carmel, Cesar Conde, Richard Greco, and Eric Hothan.

The policy study trip includes meetings with:

The Honorable Mike Bloomberg, New York City Mayor
Richard Grasso, Chairman and CEO, New York Stock Exchange, Inc.
Paul Gigot, Editor of the Editorial Page, The Wall Street Journal
Hank Greenberg, Chairman & CEO, AIG
Peter Jennings, Anchor and Senior Editor, ABC News
Raymond Kelly, Police Commissioner, New York City Police Department
The Honorable Ed Koch, Former New York City Mayor
Bill McGurn, Chief Editorial Writer and Member of the Editorial Board, The Wall Street Journal; Member, President's Commission on White House Fellowships
John Miller, Co-Anchor/Correspondent, ABC News and 20/20
The Honorable Robert Rubin, Former Treasury Secretary and Citigroup Director
Mike Wallace, Co-Editor, 60 Minutes and Correspondent for CBS News
John Whitehead, Chairman, Lower Manhattan Development Corporation
The Honorable Richard S. Williamson, Alternate U.S. Representative to the United Nations for Special Political Affairs

The four New York Fellows include:

David A. Carmel, Department of the Treasury. Carmel co-founded Jumpstart, a non-profit organization that trains and supports college students working to improve literacy skills of preschool children. He worked at Johnson & Johnson on high-tech medical devices, and he holds an M.B.A. from Stanford and a B.A. from Harvard University.

Cesar Conde, Department of State. Conde previously served as an investment banker with Salomon Smith Barney and most recently was an executive with Univision Network. He founded the Futuro Program, a community outreach initiative for Hispanic high school students in New York. Conde holds a B.A. from Harvard University and an MBA from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.

Richard Greco, Department of Defense. Greco was Vice President with Stern Stewart & Co. as an Associate with The Scowcroft Group in New York. He founded The Montfort Academy, a classical high school in New York and is the founding member of the Bronx Cancer Support Network. He holds a B.S. from Fordham University, an M.B.A. from the University of Chicago, and an M.A. from the Johns Hopkins University.

Eric Hothan, Office of Management and Budget. As a Captain in the New York City Police Department, Hothan served as commanding officer of an Internal Affairs investigations unit. A Fulbright Scholar, Hothan has served as a "Big Brother," volunteered for City Harvest, and is an officer in the Army Reserves. He holds his undergraduate degree from C.W. Post University and his Masters degree in Urban Affairs from Hunter College.

About the White House Fellows Program

Founded in 1964 by President Johnson, the White House Fellows program is a non-partisan program for leadership and public service. In its fourth decade, the program offers exceptional young men and women first-hand experience working at the highest levels of the Federal government by working with senior White House and Cabinet officials. Fellows repay that privilege by working after the Fellowship year as private citizens on their public agendas and contributing to the Nation as future leaders.

The program has fostered a legacy of leadership, with nearly 600 alumni who are respected leaders across the country and in their professions. Alumni include Secretary of State Colin Powell, Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao, former CNN President Tom Johnson, and American Red Cross President Marsha Evans. The President's Commission on White House Fellowships is accepting applications for the 2003 - 2004 Class until February 1, 2003. More information is available at