print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

 Home > News & Policies > May 2002

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
May 14, 2002

President Bush Designates the Following Individuals to Represent the U.S. at the Inauguration of the First President of East Timor

Corrected Version of Press Release

President George W. Bush today announced his designation of the following six individuals to represent the United States at ceremony on May 22, 2002, during which the United Nations will formally hand over the stewardship of East Timor. This ceremony is the last step in a long transition to full independence after the election of President Xanana Gusmão.

Former President Bill Clinton, will serve as the leader of the delegation.

Richard Holbrooke, former United States Ambassador to the United Nations
James Kelly, Assistant Secretary of State for Asian Pacific Affairs
Karen Brooks, National Security Council Director for Asian Affairs
Shari Villarosa, United States Charge d'Affairs for East Timor
Brigadier General Castellaw, Deputy Commander of the Marine Forces in the Pacific