print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

Home > News & Policies > Nominations by Name

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
February 27, 2002

Nominations Sent to the Senate

Lawrence E. Butler, of Maine, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Counselor, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

J. Russell George, of Virginia, to be Inspector General, Corporation for National and Community Service, vice Luise S. Jordan, resigned.

John Leonard Helgerson, of Virginia, to be Inspector General, Central Intelligence Agency, vice L. Britt Snider, resigned.

Victoria A. Lipnic, of Virginia, to be an Assistant Secretary of Labor, vice Bernard E. Anderson.

Deborah Matz, of New York, to be a Member of the National Credit Union Administration Board for a term expiring August 2, 2005, vice Geoff Bacino, to which position she was appointed during the recess of the Senate from December 20, 2001, to January 23, 2002.

Naomi Shihab Nye, of Texas, to be a Member of the National Council on the Humanities for a term expiring January 26, 2006. (Reappointment)

# # #