print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

 Home > News & Policies > January 2001

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
January 20, 2001

Nominations Sent to the Senate

Colin Luther Powell, of Virginia, to be Secretary of State.

Paul Henry O'Neill, of Pennsylvania, to be Secretary of the Treasury.

Donald Henry Rumsfeld, of Illinois, to be Secretary of Defense.

Gale Ann Norton, of Colorado, to be Secretary of the Interior.

Ann Margaret Veneman, of California, to be Secretary of Agriculture.

Donald Louis Evans, of Texas, to be Secretary of Commerce.

Tommy G. Thompson, of Wisconsin, to be Secretary of Health and Human Services.

Melquiades Rafael Martinez, of Florida, to be Secretary of Housing and Urban Development.

Spencer Abraham, of Michigan, to be Secretary of Energy.

Anthony Joseph Principi, of California, to be Secretary of Veterans Affairs.

Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr., of Indiana, to be Director of the Office of Management and Budget.

Christine Todd Whitman, of New Jersey, to be Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency.

# # #