print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

Home > News & Policies > Nominations by Name

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
October 30, 2001

Nomination and Appointments
President Bush Announces Four Individuals to Serve in His Administration

President George W. Bush today announced his intention to nominate one individual and his intention to appoint three individuals to serve in his administration.

The President intends to nominate Harold D. Stratton to be a Member of the Consumer Product Safety Commission for the remainder of a term expiring October 26, 2006, and to be Chairman of the Commission.  Stratton is currently a Partner with the Albuquerque law firm of Stratton and Cavin. He served as a member of the New Mexico House of Representatives from 1979 to 1986, where his committee assignments included the Judiciary Committee and the Energy and Natural Resources Committee.  From 1987 to 1990, Stratton served as the Attorney General of New Mexico.  A former member of the U.S. Army and U.S. Army Reserve, Stratton is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma and the University of Oklahoma School of Law.

The President intends to appoint the following individuals to serve as members of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe:

Jack Dyer Crouch to represent the Department of Defense William Henry Lash to represent the Department of Commerce Lorne W. Craner to represent the Department of State