print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

 Home > News & Policies > July 2001

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
July 2, 2001

Text of a Letter from the President to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President of the Senate
July 2, 2001

Dear Mr. Speaker: (Dear Mr. President:)

On September 21, 1994, President Clinton determined and reported to the Congress that the Russian Federation was not in violation of paragraphs (1), (2), or (3) of subsection 402(a) of the Trade Act of 1974, or paragraphs (1), (2), or (3) of subsection 409(a) of that Act. On June 3, 1997, he also determined and reported to the Congress that Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova, and Ukraine were not in violation of the same provisions, and made an identical determination on December 5, 1997, with respect to Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. These actions allowed for the continuation of normal trade relations for these countries and certain other activities without the requirement of an annual waiver.

On June 29, 2000, pursuant to subsection 302(b) of Public Law 106-200, President Clinton determined that title IV of the 1974 Trade Act should no longer apply to Kyrgyzstan, and on December 29, 2000, pursuant to section 3002 of Public Law 106-476, he determined that title IV of the 1974 Trade Act should no longer apply to Georgia.

As required by law, I am submitting an updated report to the Congress concerning the emigration laws and policies of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova, the Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

The report indicates continued compliance of these countries with international standards concerning freedom of emigration.



# # #