print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

Home > News & Policies > Nominations by Name

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
June 29, 2001

President Bush Announces Three People to Serve in his Administration

President George W. Bush today announced one appointment and announced his intention to nominate two individuals to serve in his administration.

The President will appoint Secretary Norman Y. Mineta to be a Member of the Amtrak Reform Board for a five-year term.

The President intends to nominate Randal Quarles to be United States Executive Director of the International Monetary Fund for a term of two years. He is currently a Partner with Davis, Polk and Wardwell where he is the co-head of the Financial Institutions Group. From 1991 to 1993, he served at the Department of the Treasury, first as a Special Assistant to the Secretary and then as Deputy Assistant Secretary for Financial Institutions Policy. Before joining the Treasury Department, he was an Associate with Davis, Polk and Wardwell in both their New York and London offices. He is a graduate of Columbia College and Yale University Law School.

The President intends to nominate Nils J. Diaz to be a Member of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission for a term of five years expiring June 30, 2006. He has served as a Commissioner on the Nuclear Regulatory Commission since 1996. He is a graduate of the University of Villanova in Havana, Cuba, and received both a Master’s degree and Ph.D. from the University of Florida.