print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

 Home > News & Policies > May 2001

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
May 2, 2001

List of Social Security Commission Members Social Security Commission


  • Patrick Moynihan (D- former New York Senator and Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee)
  • Dick Parsons (R-Co-Chief Operating Officer of AOL/Time Warner)


  • Sam Beard (D-Founder and President of Economic Security 2000)
  • John Cogan (R-Former Office of Management and Budget Deputy Director under President Reagan)
  • Robert Deposada (R-Executive Director, Hispanic Business Roundtable and President and CEO of ONE Research and Marketing, Inc)
  • Bill Frenzel (R-Former Minnesota Representative)
  • Estelle James (D-Consultant with the World Bank, former World Bank lead economist in Policy Research Dept)
  • Robert Johnson (D-CEO Black Entertainment Television)
  • Gwendolyn King (R-Former SSA Commissioner)
  • Olivia Mitchell (D-Wharton University professor, former co-chair 1994-96 Social Security Advisory Council's technical panel on retirement saving)
  • Gerry Parsky (R-Former Assistant Secretary of Treasury under President Ford)
  • Tim Penny (D-former Minnesota congressman)
  • Robert Pozen (D-Fidelity Investments)
  • Thomas Saving (R-Texas A&M Director of Private Enterprise Research Center and a Social Security Public Trustee)
  • Fidel Vargas (D-Former mayor of Baldwin Park, California and current Vice President of Reliant Equity Investors)
  • Carolyn Weaver (R-Resident scholar at the American Enterprise Institute)