print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
In Focus
News by Date
Federal Facts
West Wing

 Home > News & Policies > March 2001

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
March 5, 2001

President Honors Nation's Leading Math and Science Teachers

President Bush today announced that 203 educators will receive the annual Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching for 2000. The award was established in 1983. Each year, the White House recognizes the best of the Nation's K-12 mathematics and science teachers with this high honor in four categories: elementary mathematics, elementary science, secondary mathematics, and secondary science. The awardees represent the 50 States, U.S. territories, and Depart-ment of Defense Schools. The awards are administered by the National Science Foundation.

"I am proud to recognize the contributions these outstanding teachers are making across our country," President Bush said. "Quality education is a cornerstone of America=s future and my Administration, and the knowledge-based workplace of the 21st century requires that our students excel at the highest levels in math and science. Dedicated profes-sionals such as these will ensure that we achieve our education goals and that no child is left behind."

Two million science and math teachers across the country are eligible for this singular honor. After an initial selec-tion process at the State or territorial level, a national panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators recommends teachers to receive the Presidential Awards.

Awardees receive a $7,500 educational grant for their schools and a trip to Washington, D.C., to accept a certificate. The teachers will be in the Nation's capital from March 6-10, 2001, to receive the award and participate in a variety of educational and celebratory events. During the trip they will meet with members of Congress and the Administration, discuss the latest issues in mathematics and science teaching, and share their expertise and viewpoints with their colleagues.

For a complete listing of the awardees see starting March 6, 2001.

# # #