print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
 Home > Government > Legislative

Legislative Branch

The legislative branch of the federal government consists of the Congress, which is divided into two chambers -- the Senate and the House of Representatives. Each member of Congress is elected by the people of his or her state. The House of Representatives, with membership based on state populations, has 435 seats, while the Senate, with two members from each state, has 100 seats. Members of the House of Representatives are elected for two-year terms, and Senators are elected for six-year terms.

U.S. House of Representatives

U.S. Senate

Library of Congress

General Accountability Office

Government Printing Office

Branches of Government
| Executive | Judicial | Legislative |