print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation

White House Interactive White House Interactive White House Interactive

Recent Question on Interactive White House White House Interactive
Submit a Question
March 26, 2007 | 10:57 a.m.(EDT)

Q: Amber, from Eaton:
George W. Bush is what number as President of the U.S.?

David Almacy A: David Almacy, Former White House Internet Director: Good question, Amber. President George W. Bush is the 43rd President of the United States. His father, George H.W. Bush, is the 41st. In fact, the order of U.S. Presidents is the source of one of my favorite trivia questions. As previously stated, President Bush is 43rd, but there have only been 42 men to serve as President. Why the difference?

The answer is because Grover Cleveland is the only man to serve two terms, non-consecutively. He was first elected as the 22nd President in 1885 before losing to Benjamin Harrison in 1889. Then, in 1893, he was re-elected to a second term, defeating Harrison, and served as our country's 24th President.

To learn more about U.S. Presidential history, please visit the newly redesigned "President's Hall" page.

Back to the Top of Page