print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
 Home > History & Tours

July 18, 1947

President Harry Truman signs the Presidential Succession Act. This statute amended the Presidential Succession Act of 1886 by placing the Speaker of the House first to succeed the President and Vice-President, followed by the president pro tempore, and then the officers of the cabinet in order of each department’s antiquity.

Related Links
Today's History Question
First Ladies