print-only banner
The White House Skip Main Navigation
 Home > History & Tours

July 16, 1790

President George Washington signs an act establishing Philadelphia as the seat of government from 1790 to 1800. During this tenure, the nation's capital is created along the Potomac River.

Related Links
Today's History Question
First Ladies