President  |  Vice President  |  First Lady  |  Mrs. Cheney  |  News & Policies 
History & ToursKids  |  Your Government  |  Appointments  |  JobsContactGraphic version

Email Updates  |  Español  |  Accessibility  |  Search  |  Privacy Policy  |  Help

Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page to a friend

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
January 4, 2005

Cabinet Secretary Nominations Sent to the Senate


Samuel W. Bodman, of Massachusetts, to be Secretary of Energy, vice Spencer Abraham, resigned.

Alberto R. Gonzales, of Texas, to be Attorney General, vice John Ashcroft, resigned.

Carlos M. Gutierrez, of Michigan, to be Secretary of Commerce, vice Donald Louis Evans, resigned.

Mike Johanns, of Nebraska, to be Secretary of Agriculture, vice Ann Margaret Veneman, resigned.

Michael O. Leavitt, of Utah, to be Secretary of Health and Human Services, vice Tommy G. Thompson, resigned.

Jim Nicholson, of Colorado, to be Secretary of Veterans Affairs, vice Anthony Joseph Principi, resigned.

Condoleezza Rice, of California, to be Secretary of State, vice Colin Luther Powell, resigned.

Margaret Spellings, of Texas, to be Secretary of Education, vice Roderick R. Paige, resigned.

# # #

Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page to a friend


More Issues


RSS Feeds

News by Date


Federal Facts

West Wing