President  |  Vice President  |  First Lady  |  Mrs. Cheney  |  News & Policies 
History & ToursKids  |  Your Government  |  Appointments  |  JobsContactGraphic version

Email Updates  |  Español  |  Accessibility  |  Search  |  Privacy Policy  |  Help

Printer-Friendly Version   Email this page to a friend

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
May 16, 2001

Statement by the Press Secretary

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Nebraska and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe winter storms, flooding, and tornadoes on April 10-23, 2001.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected local governments in a 26 county area. The counties include Banner, Blaine, Box Butte, Brown, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, Deuel, Gage, Garden, Hayes, Hooker, Johnson, Keith, Keya Paha, Kimball, Lincoln, Logan, McPherson, Morrill, Nuckolls, Perkins, Rock, Saline, Sioux, and Thomas counties.

Federal funding is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe winter storms, flooding, and tornadoes. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Joe M. Allbaugh, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named Carlos Mitchell as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional assistance and counties may be added after the assessments are completed.



Printer-Friendly Version   Email this page to a friend

In Focus
March 2007   |   February 2007

News by Date


Federal Facts

West Wing