Home > Government > White House Fellows

For Immediate Release
May 20, 2003

White House Fellows to Meet with Key Officials in Miami, Florida

WASHINGTON, May 20, 2003 - The White House today announced that the 2002-2003 Class of White House Fellows will meet with key leaders from the public and private sectors from May 20 - 23, 2003, in Miami, Florida. During the meetings, the Fellows will examine a broad range of issues in the state such as immigration, narcotics, terrorism, and tourism. It is the final of three domestic policy trips that the Fellows take during the fellowship year.

The policy study trip includes meetings with:

    Rear Admiral Jay Carmichael, Commander, United States Coast Guard District Seven
    Mayor Manuel A. Diaz, City of Miami
    Robert H. Dickinson, President of Carnival Cruise Lines
    Emilio Estefan, President, Estefan Enterprises
    Alberto Ibarguen, Publisher, The Miami Herald
    Mayor Alex Penelas, County of Miami-Dade
    Carlos Saladrigras, Chairman of the Board of the Premier American Bank
    Donna Shalala, President, University of Miami
    Chief John Timoney, Chief of Police, City of Miami

About the White House Fellows Program

Founded in 1964 by President Johnson, the White House Fellows program is a non-partisan program for leadership and public service. The program offers exceptional young men and women first-hand experience working at the highest levels of the Federal government. White House Fellows typically spend a year working as full-time, paid special assistants to senior White House Staff, the Vice President, Cabinet Secretaries and other top-ranking government officials. Fellows repay that privilege by working after the Fellowship year as private citizens on their public agendas and contributing to the Nation as future leaders.

The program has fostered a legacy of leadership, with nearly 600 alumni who are respected leaders across the country and in their professions. Alumni include Secretary of State Colin Powell, Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao, former CNN President Tom Johnson, and American Red Cross President Marsha Evans. More information about the program is available at www.whitehouse.gov/fellows.