Skip to main content E-Gov logoPowering America’s  future with technology.


Press Releases: E-Gov & IT General

October 23, 2003

Johnson Appoints Samuel W. Bodman to Chair E-Government Committee of the President’s Management Council

Washington, DC - Clay Johnson, Deputy Director of Management, Office of Management and Budget, announced today that he intends to appoint Samuel W. Bodman as Chair of the E-Government Committee of the President’s Management Council (PMC). Bodman is the Deputy Secretary of the Department of Commerce.

”Sam will work well with E-Gov Administrator Karen Evans to ensure the E-Government initiatives are using information technology to provide services to the taxpayer in more convenient and efficient ways,“ said Clay Johnson III, Deputy Director of Management for OMB.

Mr. Bodman has thirty-one years of experience in the private sector consulting in the venture capital sector. He has also been active in public service as a former professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (M.I.T.). He graduated in 1961 with a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from Cornell University and in 1965 he completed his PhD in Chemical Engineering at M.I.T. To help agencies succeed, the President formed the President’s Management Council (PMC), comprised of the departmental and agency chief operating officers - generally the Deputy Secretary or Deputy Administrator - with agency-wide authority on behalf of the Secretary or agency head. The PMC works to achieve the goals in the President’s Management Agenda (PMA) through cross-agency collaboration.

The E-Government Committee of the PMC focuses on one of the five initiatives of the PMA, Expanding Electronic Government. E-Government makes it easier for citizens and businesses to interact with the government, saves taxpayer dollars and streamlines citizen-to-government transactions.

For more information about the President’s Management Council, please visit or contact OMB Communications at 202-395-7254.

back to top