President  |  Vice President  |  First Lady  |  Mrs. Cheney  |  News & Policies 
History & ToursKids  |  Your Government  |  Appointments  |  JobsContactGraphic version

Email Updates  |  Español  |  Accessibility  |  Search  |  Privacy Policy  |  Help

Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page to a friend

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
December 5, 2003

Membership of the President's Task Force on Puerto Rico's Status

The White House today announced the membership of the President's Task Force on Puerto Rico's Status. The Task Force seeks to implement the policy set forth in Executive Order 13183, which is to consider and clarify options for the Commonwealth's future status that are not incompatible with the Constitution and basic laws and policies of the United States, toward the end of enabling Puerto Ricans to determine their preference among those options.

To advance this process, the Task Force will assess the current situation and outline a framework for moving forward. The Task Force will ultimately provide advice and recommendations to the President and the Congress.

The members of the Task Force are:

Name Title Department

Gilbert G. Gonzalez, Jr. Deputy Under Secretary for Rural Development Agriculture

Elizabeth Dial Director of Intergovernmental Affairs


Victor E. Bernson, Jr. Director, Office of Legislative Counsel


Kathleen Leos Associate Deputy Under Secretary Education

Theresa Speake Director, Office of Economic Impact and Diversity Energy

Regina Schofield Director, Intergovernmental Affairs HHS

Joshua Filler Director, Office of State Homeland and Local Government Coordination


Frank Jimenez Chief of Staff HUD

David P. Smith Deputy Assistant Secretary for Fish,


Wildlife and Parks

Noel J. Francisco Deputy Assistant Attorney General Justice

Chris Spear Assistant Secretary for Policy Labor

Leo DiBenigno Senior Policy Advisor to the Assistant Secretary State

Sam Reid Deputy Assistant Secretary Transportation

for Governmental Affairs

Tony Fratto Deputy Assistant Secretary, Public Affairs Treasury

William McLemore Deputy Assistant Secretary Veterans

for Intergovernmental Affairs Affairs

Ruben Barrales Director, Office of Intergovernmental Affairs

White House


Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page to a friend


More Issues


RSS Feeds

News by Date


Federal Facts

West Wing