President  |  Vice President  |  First Lady  |  Mrs. Cheney  |  News & Policies 
History & ToursKids  |  Your Government  |  Appointments  |  JobsContactGraphic version

Email Updates  |  Español  |  Accessibility  |  Search  |  Privacy Policy  |  Help

Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page to a friend

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
February 27, 2003

Statement by the Press Secretary

President George W. Bush today announced the recipients of the National Humanities Medal for the year 2002. The President and First Lady Laura Bush, Honorary Chair of the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities, will present the medals to the six individuals and two organizations at a ceremony today.

National Humanities Medal Recipients for 2002:

Dr. Donald Kagan, Sterling Professor of Classics and History at Yale University (Connecticut) Brian Lamb, CEO of C-SPAN (Washington, D.C.) Art Linkletter, Chairman of United Seniors Association (California) Patricia Maclachlan, Author (Massachusetts) Iowa Writers' Workshop (University of Iowa) The Mount Vernon Ladies' Association (Virginia) Frankie Hewitt, Producing Artistic Director of Ford's Theater (Washington, D.C.) Dr. Thomas Sowell, The Rose and Milton Friedman Senior Fellow in Public Policy at the Hoover Institution (California)

Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page to a friend


More Issues


RSS Feeds

News by Date


Federal Facts

West Wing