President  |  Vice President  |  First Lady  |  Mrs. Cheney  |  News & Policies 
History & ToursKids  |  Your Government  |  Appointments  |  JobsContactGraphic version

Email Updates  |  Español  |  Accessibility  |  Search  |  Privacy Policy  |  Help

Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page to a friend

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
February 4, 2003

Statement of Federal Assistance for Oklahoma
Statement by the Press Secretary

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Oklahoma and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe ice storm on December 3-4, 2002.

Federal funding is available to the State and eligible local governments in the counties of Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Custer, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Noble, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Roger Mills and Washita on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe ice storm. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Joe M. Allbaugh, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named James N. Russo as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional assistance and counties may be added after the assessments are completed.


Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page to a friend


More Issues


RSS Feeds

News by Date


Federal Facts

West Wing