President  |  Vice President  |  First Lady  |  Mrs. Cheney  |  News & Policies 
History & ToursKids  |  Your Government  |  Appointments  |  JobsContactGraphic version

Email Updates  |  Español  |  Accessibility  |  Search  |  Privacy Policy  |  Help

Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page to a friend

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
January 24, 2002

President Orders Federal Aid for Arkansas
Statement by the Press Secretary

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Arkansas and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding beginning on December 15, 2001, and continuing.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected local governments in a 16 county area. The counties include Ashley, Clay, Cleburne, Columbia, Crittenden, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Monroe, Poinsett, Prairie, Scott, Stone, and Woodruff.

Federal funding is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Joe M. Allbaugh, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named Joe Bray as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional assistance and counties may be added after the assessments are completed.



Printer-Friendly Version
Email this page to a friend


More Issues


RSS Feeds

News by Date


Federal Facts

West Wing