President  |  Vice President  |  First Lady  |  Mrs. Cheney  |  News & Policies 
History & ToursKids  |  Your Government  |  Appointments  |  JobsContactGraphic version

Email Updates  |  Español  |  Accessibility  |  Search  |  Privacy Policy  |  Help

Printer-Friendly Version   Email this page to a friend

President Bush's Cabinet

The tradition of the Cabinet dates back to the beginnings of the Presidency itself. One of the principal purposes of the Cabinet (drawn from Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution) is to advise the President on any subject he may require relating to the duties of their respective offices.

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments-the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, and the Attorney General. Under President George W. Bush, Cabinet-level rank also has been accorded to the Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency; Director, Office of Management and Budget; the Director, National Drug Control Policy; and the U.S. Trade Representative.

Department of Agriculture
Secretary Ed Schafer

Ed Schafer


Department of the Interior
Secretary Dirk Kempthorne

Dirk Kempthorne

Department of Commerce
Secretary Carlos Gutierrez

Carlos Gutierrez

Department of Justice
Attorney General Michael Mukasey

Michael Mukasey

Department of Defense
Secretary Robert M. Gates

Robert M. Gates

Department of Labor
Secretary Elaine Chao

Elaine Chao

Department of Education
Secretary Margaret Spellings

Margaret Spellings

Department of State
Secretary Condoleezza Rice

Condoleezza Rice

Department of Energy
Secretary Samuel W. Bodman

Samuel W. Bodman

Department of Transportation
Secretary Mary E. Peters

Mary E. Peters

Department of Health &
Human Services

Secretary Michael O. Leavitt

Michael O. Leavitt

Department of the Treasury
Secretary Henry M. Paulson, Jr.

Henry M. Paulson, Jr.

Department of
Homeland Security

Secretary Michael Chertoff

Michael Chertoff

Department of
Veterans Affairs

Secretary Dr. James Peake

Dr. James Peake


Department of Housing &
Urban Development

Acting Secretary Roy A. Bernardi


Roy A. Bernardi

Cabinet Rank Members

The Vice President
Richard B. Cheney

Richard B. Cheney


White House
Chief of Staff

Joshua B. Bolten

Joshua B. Bolten

Office of Management
and Budget

Jim Nussle

Jim Nussle

United States
Trade Representative

Ambassador Susan Schwab

Susan Schwab

Environmental Protection Agency
Stephen Johnson

Stephen Johnson

Office of National
Drug Control Policy

John Walters

John Walters

Printer-Friendly Version   Email this page to a friend

In Focus

More Issues more issues

More News more news

Major Speeches


Your Government

  |   More Offices