Q: What is Bush.s Cabinet?

A: The tradition of the Cabinet dates back to the beginnings of the Presidency itself. One of the principal purposes of the Cabinet (drawn from Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution) is to advise the President on any subject he may require relating to the duties of their respective offices.

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and, by law, the heads of 15 executive departments-the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, and the Attorney General. Under President George W. Bush, Cabinet-level rank also has been accorded to the Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency; Director, Office of Management and Budget; the Director, National Drug Control Policy; and the U.S. Trade Representative.

For more information and links to biographies of President Bush.s Cabinet, click here.

President George W. Bush meets with Secretary of State Colin Powell, left, Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham, center, and EPA Administrator Christine Todd Whitman in the Oval Office Thursday, Feb. 27, 2003. White House photo by Paul Morse.