Office of Management and Budget Print this document


April 1, 2008
Contact: OMB Communications, 202-395-7254

David Wennergren and Steve Ballmer to be recognized during FOSE 2008

Washington, DC — Today, the Chief Information Officer (CIO) Council announced the two recipients of the 2008 Azimuth Awards, a prestigious award for lifetime contributions to improving government information technology.  Selected by members of the CIO Council Executive Committee, this year’s award winners are David M. Wennergren, Deputy CIO of the Department of Defense (DoD), and Steve Ballmer, CEO of Microsoft ® Corporation.  The honorees will be recognized during FOSE 2008, an annual event for government information technology (IT) professionals.

“The CIO Council would like to thank this year’s Azimuth Award winners for their service and dedication to government,” said Karen S. Evans, Administrator of E-Government and Information Technology for the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) and Director of the CIO Council.  “Mr. Ballmer has continually supported the federal community by working directly with government leaders and with the CIO Council, to share technology advances/trends.  Mr. Wennergren has been instrumental in implementing a number of trailblazing technology initiatives within the DoD and government at large.  They both deserve such recognition.”

The CIO Council serves as the principal interagency forum for improving practices in the design, modernization, use, sharing, and performance of federal agency information resources.  The annual Azimuth Awards highlight the lifetime achievement of two individuals, one in the public sector and one in the private sector, for their success and continued support of the U.S. government IT community.  This year’s Azimuth Awards ceremony will take place on Tuesday, April 1st at an invitation-only awards dinner during FOSE 2008.


Return to this article at:

Print this document