The White House, President George W. Bush Click to print this document

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
July 10, 2008

Personnel Announcement

President George W. Bush today announced he has nominated three individuals, designated one individual, and intends to nominate one individual to serve in his Administration.

The President has nominated Ruth Y. Goldway, of California, to be Commissioner of the Postal Regulatory Commission, for an additional six-year term expiring 11/22/14. Ms. Goldway currently serves as Commissioner of the Postal Regulatory Commission. Prior to this, she served as Manager of Public Affairs at J. Paul Getty Trust. Earlier in her career, she served as Director of Public Affairs at California State University. Ms. Goldway received her bachelor's degree from the University of Michigan and her master's degree from Wayne State University.

The President has nominated the following individuals to be Members of the National Council on the Humanities:

Joyce Lee Malcolm, of Virginia, for a six-year term beginning 01/27/08; Robert L. Paquette, of New York, for a six-year term beginning 01/27/08.

The President has nominated Clifford D. May, of Maryland, to be a Member of the Broadcasting Board of Governors, for the remainder of a three-year term expiring 08/13/09.

The President intends to nominate Anthony W. Ryan, of Massachusetts, to be Under Secretary of the Treasury (Domestic Finance) and has designated him Acting. Mr. Ryan currently serves as Assistant Secretary of the Treasury (Financial Markets). Prior to this, he served as Senior Advisor to the Secretary of the Treasury. Earlier in his career, he served as a partner of Grantham, Mayo, van Otterloo & Co. Mr. Ryan received his bachelor's degree from the University of Rochester and his master's degree from the London School of Economics and Political Science.

# # #

Return to this article at:

Click to print this document