The White House, President George W. Bush Click to print this document

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
February 7, 2008

Statement on Federal Disaster Assistance for Arkansas

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Arkansas and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding beginning on February 5, 2008, and continuing.

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis in Baxter, Conway, Independence, Izard, Pope, Randolph, Sharp, Stone, Union, and Van Buren Counties for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct Federal assistance.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

R. David Paulison, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Philip E. Parr as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said that aerial damage surveys have just begun and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are completed.


# # #

Return to this article at:

Click to print this document