The White House
President George W. Bush
Print this document

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
December 11, 2007

Nominations and Withdrawals Sent to the Senate


Yousif Boutrous Ghafari, of Michigan, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Republic of Slovenia.

James K. Glassman, of Connecticut, to be Under Secretary of State for Public Diplomacy with the rank of Ambassador, vice Karen P. Hughes.

Gregory G. Katsas, of Massachusetts, to be an Assistant Attorney General, vice Peter D. Keisler, resigned.

Kevin J. O'Connor, of Connecticut, to be Associate Attorney General, vice Robert D. McCallum, Jr.

Douglas H. Shulman, of the District of Columbia, to be Commissioner of Internal Revenue for the term prescribed by law, vice Mark W. Everson.

G. Murray Snow, of Arizona, to be United States District Judge for the District of Arizona, vice Stephen M. McNamee, retired.

Stanley C. Suboleski, of Virginia, to be an Assistant Secretary of Energy (Fossil Energy), vice Jeffrey D. Jarrett, resigned.

Glenn T. Suddaby, of New York, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of New York, vice Lawrence E. Kahn, retired.

Jon Wellinghoff, of Nevada, to be a Member of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission for the term expiring June 30, 2013. (Reappointment)


James K. Glassman, of Connecticut, to be a Member of the Broadcasting Board of Governors for a term expiring August 13, 2010 (Reappointment), which was sent to the Senate on April 26, 2007.

# # #

Return to this article at:

Print this document