The White House
President George W. Bush
Print this document

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
December 13, 2005

Nominations Sent to the Senate

Michell C. Clark, of Virginia, to be Assistant Secretary for Management, Department of Education, vice William Leidinger.

Michael L. Dominguez, of Virginia, to be Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Personnel and Readiness, vice Charles S. Abell, resigned.

Gary A. Grappo, of Virginia, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Counselor, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Sultanate of Oman.

Bradford R. Higgins, of Connecticut, to be an Assistant Secretary of State (Resource Management), vice Christopher Bancroft Burnham.

Bradford R. Higgins, of Connecticut, to be Chief Financial Officer, Department of State, vice Christopher Bancroft Burnham, resigned.

Raymond L. Orbach, of California, to be Under Secretary for Science, Department of Energy. (New Position)

Anne-Imelda Radice, of Vermont, to be Director of the Institute of Museum Services, vice Robert S. Martin.


Ellen G. Engleman Conners, of Indiana, to be Chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board for a term of two years. (Reappointment), which was sent to the Senate on April 4, 2005.

Edward L. Flippen, of Virginia, to be Inspector General, Corporation for National and Community Service, vice J. Russell George, which was sent to the Senate on January 24, 2005.

John M. Molino, of Virginia, to be an Assistant Secretary of Veterans Affairs (Policy and Planning), vice Claude M. Kicklighter, resigned, which was sent to the Senate on September 6, 2005.

# # #

Return to this article at:

Print this document