The White House
President George W. Bush
Print this document

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
December 2, 2004

Statement on Presidential Medal of Freedom Recipients
Statement by the Press Secretary

President Bush will award the Presidential Medal of Freedom to L. Paul Bremer III, Tommy R. Franks, and George J. Tenet in a ceremony at the White House on December 14, 2004.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the Nation's highest civil award. It was established by President Truman and later re-established by President Kennedy. It is awarded by the President of the United States to persons who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.


Return to this article at:

Print this document