The White House, President George W. Bush Click to print this document

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
December 15, 2003

Statement by the Press Secretary

On Monday, December 15, 2003, the President signed into law:

H.J.Res. 80, which designates the day for the convening of the second session of the One Hundred Eighth Congress;

H.R. 1437, which revises without substantive change provisions of the United States Code related to public buildings, property, and works;

H.R. 1813, the "Torture Victims Relief Reauthorization Act of 2003," which reauthorizes the Torture Victims Relief Act of 1998;

H.R. 3287, which provides for the posthumous award of congressional gold medals in honor of Reverend Joseph A. DeLaine, Harry and Eliza Briggs, and Levi Pearson; and

S. 459, the "Hometown Heroes Survivors Benefits Act of 2003," which provides that survivors of certain public safety officers who die of a heart attack or stroke after engaging while on duty in a non-routine stressful or strenuous physical activity would be eligible for the Public Safety Officers' benefits Program.


Return to this article at:

Click to print this document