The White House, President George W. Bush Click to print this document

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
January 6, 2003

Statement on Federal Assistance for Arkansas

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Arkansas and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by a severe ice storm on December 3-4, 2002.

Federal funding is available to the State and eligible local governments in the counties of Baxter, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Newton, Poinsett, Randolph, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren and White on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe ice storm. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Joe M. Allbaugh, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named Alexander S. Wells as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional assistance and counties may be added after the assessments are completed.



Return to this article at:

Click to print this document