The White House, President George W. Bush Click to print this document

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
December 12, 2001

Nominations and PCAST Appointments

President George W. Bush today announced his intention to nominate twelve individuals and appoint twenty-two individuals to serve in his administration.

The President intends to nominate Robert B. Holland to be United States Alternate Executive Director of International Bank for Reconstruction and Development for a term of two years.  Holland is currently the Managing Partner of Texas Limited, a consulting and investment partnership in Dallas, Texas.  From 1993 to 1999, Holland was General Counsel, chief Operating Officer and Chief Executive Officer of Triton Energy Limited, and from 1977 to 1994, he practiced law with the Texas law firm, Jackson Walker.  Holland is a graduate of Stanford University and the University of Texas Law School.

The President intends to nominate Arthur Jeffrey Hedden to be the United States Marshal for the Eastern District of Tennessee.  Hedden has been employed by the U.S. Marshals Service since 1983.  He served as Deputy U.S. Marshal for the Middle District of Tennessee from 1983 to 1986, and he has served as Deputy in Charge of the Greenville, Tennessee, sub-office since 1986.  Hedden is a graduate of Appalachian State University.

The President intends to nominate the following ten individuals to serve as Members of the National Council on Disability:

For three year terms expiring September 17, 2004:  Lex Frieden of Texas and upon confirmation will be designated Chairperson Jacqueline Kelly Collamore of Maryland Carol Hughes of Georgia

For the remainder of a three year term expiring September 17, 2002:  Barbara Gillcrist of New Mexico Graham Hill of Virginia Patricia Pound of Texas

For the remainder of a three year tem expiring September 17, 2003: Robert Davila of New York Young Woo Kang of Indiana Stephanie Smith Lee of Virginia Kathleen Martinez of California

The President intends to appoint the following twenty-two individuals to serve as Members of the Presidents Council of Advisors on Science and Technology:

Charles Joel Arntzen of Arizona.

Norman R. Augustine of Maryland

Carol Ann Bartz of California

M. Kathleen Behrens of California

Erich Bloch of the District of Columbia

Stephen B. Burke of Pennsylvania

Gerald Wayne Clough of Georgia

Michael S. Dell of Texas

Raul Fernandez of Maryland

Marye Anne Fox of North Carolina

Martha Diane Winters Gilliland of Missouri

Ralph E. Gomory of New York

Bernadine Patricia Healy of Ohio

Robert John Herbold of Washington

Barbara Kilberg of Virginia

Walter Eugene Massey of Georgia

Gordon E. Moore of California

Kenneth Nwabueze of California

Steven Gerald Papermaster of Texas

Dr. Luis M. Proenza of Ohio

George Martin Scalise of California

Charles M. Vest of Massachusetts


Return to this article at:

Click to print this document