The White House
President George W. Bush
Print this document

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
June 27, 2001

President Bush to Nominate Six Individuals to Serve in His Administration

President George W. Bush today announced his intention to nominate six individuals to serve in his administration.

The President intends to nominate Donald R. Schregardus to be Assistant Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency for Enforcement and Compliance Assurance. Schregardus served as with the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency from 1989 to 1999, as Deputy Director of Water Programs from 1989 to 1991 and as Director of the Agency from 1991 to 1999. He is currently the Environmental Principal with MS Consultants in Columbus, Ohio.

From 19974 to 1989, he was with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, first at an Engineer and Water Quality Modeling Expert in Ohio from 1974 to 1985 and then as Chief of the Compliance Section of the Water Division in Chicago, Illinois. He received both an undergraduate and Master’s degree from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio.

The President intends to nominate H.T. Johnson to be Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Installations and Environment. Most recently, he was the President and CEO of EG&G from 1998 to 2000. He served as Executive Vice President of the Credit Union National Association in 1997 and was President of USAA Capital Corporation from 1992 to 1996. A veteran of the United States Air Force, he was appointed to the Base Closure Commission in 1993 and in 1995, was named head of the Greater Kelly Development Corporation. Johnson was the first graduate of the U.S. Air Force Academy to be promoted to the rank of Four Star General. He received a Master’s degree from Stanford University and earned a M. B. A. from the University of Colorado.

The President intends to nominate the following individuals to be Commissioners of the United States Parole Commission for terms of six years.

Gilbert Gallegos is the current National President of the Fraternal Order of Police as well as a Region I Drug Enforcement Coordinator for the New Mexico Department of Public Safety. From 1997 to 2000, he was a member of the Commission for Advancement of Federal Law Enforcement and served as a Member of the Albuquerque Police Department from 1964 to 1988, retiring as Deputy Chief of Police. He is a graduate of the University of Albuquerque.

Henry Hart serves as Deputy Inspector General for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. From 1996 to 1999, he was Chief Counsel to the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency and he served at the Philadelphia District Attorney’s Office from 1978 to 1996. Hart is a graduate of Amherst College and received his law degree from Boston University School of Law.

Cranston J. Miller is currently a Correction Program Specialist at the National Institute of Corrections and served as Director of the Missouri Board of Probation and Parole from 1985 to 2000. Miller was a Police Office with the City of St. Louis from 1967 to 1974. He is a graduate of the University of Missouri, St. Louis.

Marie F. Ragghianti is presently an independent criminal justice consultant and from 1999 to 2000, she was Chairman of the National Appeals Board and Vice Chair of the U.S. Parole Commission. She served as Chief of Staff at the U.S. Parole Commission from 1997 to 1999. Before joining the Commission, consulted on criminal justice issues from 1979 to 1997. Ragghianti was Chair of the Tennessee Board of Pardons and Paroles from 1976 to 1977 and an Extradition Officer with the Tennessee Department of Corrections from 1975 to 1976. She received both her undergraduate and Master’s degrees from Vanderbilt University and received a Master’s in Public Administration from Harvard University.


Return to this article at:

Print this document