The White House
President George W. Bush
Print this document

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
May 25, 2001

Biographical Information on Judicial Appointees Charles W. Pickering, Sr. U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

Birth:			May 29, 1937			Jones County, Mississippi

Legal Residence:		Mississippi

Marital Status:		Married				Margaret Ann Thomas
							Four Children

Education:		1955-1957			Jones County Junior College
							A.A. degree

1957-1961	University of Mississippi
B.A. degree, 1959
LL.B. degree, 1961

Bar:			1961				Mississippi

Experience:		1961				Sole practitioner

1961-1971	Gartin, Hester and Pickering 

1969	City of Laurel
Municipal Court
Municipal Judge

1971-1972	Law Offices of Charles W. Pickering

1973-1980	Pickering & McKenzie

1981-1990	Pickering & Williamson

			1990-Present			United States District Judge
							Southern District of Mississippi


Dick Bennett								Brooke Ferris
President of the Mississippi Bar Association					Attorney
601/944/0466								601/649-5399

Frank Montague								Robert Sullivan
Fmr. President of the Mississippi Bar Association				Attorney
601/544-1234								601/428-1505

Deborah Gambrell							Tom Royals
Attorney									Attorney
601/583-9401								601/948-7777

Carroll Rhodes 								John Colette
Attorney									Attorney
601/894-4323								601/355-6277

Mike McMahan

U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit
Birth:			November 2, 1956		Denver, Colorado

Legal Residence:		Colorado

Marital Status:		Married				Suzanne Lyon
							2 Children

Education:		1975-1979			Colorado College
							B.A. degree

1979-1982	University of Colorado School of Law
J.D. degree

Bar:			1981				Colorado

Experience:		1982-1983			Colorado Supreme Court
							Law Clerk to Chief Justice Wm. Erickson
1983-1989	Davis Graham & Stubbs

1990-1991	Bradley Campbell Carney & Madsen
Of Counsel

1991-1996	Office of the Colorado Attorney General
Solicitor General

			1996-Present			Hale Hackstaff Tymkovich & ErkenBrack


The Honorable William H. Erickson			The Honorable Gail A. Norton
Fmr. Colorado Supreme Court Chief Justice			Secretary of the Interior
303/789-0333						202/208-7351

The Honorable Ken Salazar				The Honorable Bill Owens
Attorney General for the State of Colorado			Governor of the State of Colorado
303/866-3052						303/866-2471

The Honorable Jean Dubofsky				Raymond Slaughter
Fmr. Colorado Supreme Court Justice			Director of the Colorado Division of Criminal Justice
303/447-3510						303/239-4442

Allan L. Hale						Richard Westfall
Attorney							Attorney
303/592-8700						303/592-8700

Lynn Ross
Executive Director of the National Association of Attorneys General

Rebecca Koppes-Conway
Past-President of the Colorado Bar Association

Tom Gede						
Director of the Conference of Western Attorneys General

Return to this article at:

Print this document