The White House, President George W. Bush Click to print this document

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
May 10, 2001

Statement by the Press Secretary

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Illinois and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area struck by flooding beginning on April 18, 2001, and continuing.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in a six county area. The counties include Carroll, Hancock, Henderson, Jo Daviess, Rock Island and Whiteside.

Assistance can include disaster housing, grants, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Assistance is also available for debris removal (Category A) and emergency protective measures (Category B) in the counties of Adams, Calhoun, Carroll, Hancock, Henderson, Mercer, Pike, Rock Island and Whiteside. Federal funding is also available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Joe M. Allbaugh, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named Robert R. Colangelo as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional counties may be added after the assessments are completed.

The Agency said that residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties may begin applying for assistance tomorrow by calling 1-800-462-9029, or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.



Return to this article at:

Click to print this document