President  |  Vice President  |  First Lady  |  Mrs. Cheney  |  News & Policies 
History & ToursKids  |  Your Government  |  Appointments  |  JobsContactGraphic version

Email Updates  |  Español  |  Accessibility  |  Search  |  Privacy Policy  |  Help

For Immediate Release
April 28, 2004

The White House Announces National Finalists for the 2004-2005 Class of White House Fellows

WASHINGTON, April 28, 2004 -- The White House today announced that thirty outstanding individuals from across the country have been selected as National Finalists for the 2004-2005 White House Fellows Program -- one of the Nation's most prestigious programs for leadership and public service. The National Finalists represent a diverse cross-section of professions, including business, medicine, law, non-profit, finance, management consulting, science, and education. Additionally, five branches of the military are represented among the National Finalists. A complete list of the National Finalists appears below.

The White House Fellows Program, founded in 1964 by President Lyndon B. Johnson, offers exceptional young men and women first-hand experience working at the highest levels of the Federal government. Fellows participate in an education program consisting of roundtable discussions with leaders from the private and public sectors, and trips to study U.S. policy in action. Following the Fellowship year, Fellows are expected to repay the privilege by contributing to the Nation as better leaders and public servants.

Selection as a White House Fellow is highly competitive and based on a record of remarkable professional achievement, evidence of leadership skills, a strong commitment to public service, and the knowledge and skills necessary to contribute successfully at the highest levels of the Federal government. The program has fostered leaders in many fields, including Secretary of State Colin Powell; Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao; Former CNN President Tom Johnson; American Red Cross President Marsha Evans; United Nations Foundation President and Former U.S. Senator Timothy Wirth; and U.S. Senator Samuel Brownback.

Additional information about the Program is located at /fellows.

Matthew Anestis, Project Leader, Boston Consulting Group; Pittsburgh, PA

Alyssa Ayres, Doctoral Candidate, The University of Chicago; Birmingham, MI

Kira Bacal, Physician, University of Texas Medical Branch, Wyle Life Sciences; Katonah, NY

Randi Burlew, Senior Research Associate, Philliber Research Associates; Cincinnati, OH

Anthony Ceraolo, Lieutenant Commander (sel), United States Coast Guard; Nesconset, NY

Ronald Clark, Captain (Major sel), United States Marine Corps; Westbury, NY

Theresa Feeley, Executive Director, San Francisco Works; Norcross, GA

James Freis, Senior Counsel, Bank for International Settlements; Metuchen, NJ

Matthew Gorin, Senior Associate, Promontory Financial Group LLC; New York, NY

Wesley Hallman, Major, United States Air Force; Glendora, CA

Jerry Johnson, Vice President, Fleet Development Ventures; Atmore, AL

Samrat Khichi, Senior Associate Attorney, McDermott, Will & Emery; Toms River, NJ

J. May Liang, Executive Director, The Epilepsy Cure Project; Manhattan, KS

Raja Mahajan, President and Co-Founder, Kiodex, Inc.; Los Altos Hills, CA

Martin Makary, Physician and Assistant Chief of Service, The Johns Hopkins Hospital; Danville, PA

Patrick McClanahan, Lieutenant Commander, United States Navy; Crofton, MD

Catherine Merrill, Director of Operations, ACS, Inc.; Annapolis, MD

Matthew Meyer, Staff Attorney, Community Legal Aid Society, Inc.; Wilmington, DE

Patrick O'Hanlon, Vice President for Finance, MBIA; Westfield, NJ

Louis O'Neill, Assistant District Attorney, New York County District Attorney's Office; New York, NY

Daniel Orcutt, Major, United States Air Force; Indianapolis, IN

William Pruitt, Director for Strategy and Corporate Development, Hewlett- Packard Company; Arlington, TX

Silvana Rubino-Hallman, International Consultant, Office of the President of El Salvador; Montevideo, Uruguay

Ahmed Saeed, Managing Director and Founder, NextCom Venture Partners; Rockville, MD

Steven Shepard, Lieutenant Commander, United States Navy; Norfolk, VA

Brett Sylvia, Captain, United States Army; Hilton Head Island, SC

Joseph Truesdale, Assistant Dean and Professor, The Culver Academies; Hopkinton, NH

Amy Wilkinson, Associate, McKinsey & Company; Portland, OR

Scott Wunsch, Senior Technical Staff, Sandia National Laboratories; Circleville, OH

Lauren Zucker, Analyst, The Maritime Intelligence Group; Hamden, CT


White House Fellows     |   About the Program   |   Purpose   |   History   |   Press Releases   |   Newsletters   |   Become a Fellow   |   Selection Process   |   Calendar and Procedures   |   Work Placement   |   Education Program   |   Community Service   |   Fellowship   |   Application and Directions   |   Frequently Asked Questions   |   Alumni Class of 2006-2007 Photos of Former Classes   |   The Commission   |   Director's Biography Contacts